Rummanah Aasi
I have been looking forward to this morning and anxiously awaiting the announcement of several Children and Young Adult book awards. There were so many great books that were published last year and I don't envy the award committee to narrow their choices to just a few. The Young Media Awards are like the Oscars for me. It's one of my favorite times of the year. I usually discover new titles that I fall in love with and book talk to my students. The awards took place at the American Library Association (ALA) Midwinter Meeting at Seattle, Washington.

Although there are many awards honored today, I was looking forward to finding out the winners for the CaldecottNewberyMorris, and of course the Michael L. Printz Award. You can find the other winners on the Association for Library Services to Children website and the Young Adult Library Services website (YALSA).

The Caldecott Medal was named in honor of  Randolph Caldecott, who was a nineteenth-century English illustrator. The award is given annually by the Association for Library Service to Children to the artist of the most distinguished American picture book for children.

Winner of the 2018 Caldecott Medal is: 

Honorees of the 2019 Caldecott are:

Alma and How She Got Her Name by Juana Martinez-Neal
A Big Mooncake for Little Star by Grace Lin
The Rough Patch by Brian Lies
Thank you, Omu! by Oge Mora

The Newbery Medal was named in the honor of John Newbery, who was an eighteenth-century British bookseller. Like the Caldecott, it is also awarded annually by the Association for Library Service to Children to the author of the most distinguished contribution to American literature for children.

Winner of the 2019 Newbery Medal is: 

Honorees of the 2019 Newbery are:

The Night Diary by Veera Hiranandani
The Book of Boy by Catherine Gilbert Murdock

The William C. Morris YA Debut Award was first awarded in 2009 by YALSA. The award is given to a debut book published by a first-time author writing for teens and celebrating impressive new voices in young adult literature.

Winner of the 2019 Morris Award is: 

Honorees of the 2018 Morris Award are:

Blood Water Paint by Joy McCullough
Check, Please!: #Hockey by Ngozi Ukazu
Children of Blood and Bone by Tomi Adeyemi

What the Night Sings by Vesper Stamper

 The Michael L. Printz Award was named in the honor of Michael L. Printz, a school librarian in Topeka, Kansas, who was a long-time active member of the Young Adult Library Services Association. The Michael L. Printz Award is an award given annually by the Young Adult Library Services Association to a book that exemplifies literary excellence in young adult literature.

Winner of the 2019 Michael Printz Award is: 

Honorees of the 2019 Printz Award are:

Damsel by Elana K. Arnold
A Heart in a Body in the World by Deb Caletti
I, Claudia by Mary McCoy

 Congratulations to all of today's winners! The library associations have spoken. What do you think of these book awards? Will you read the books that have won and have been honored? Did any of the award-winning books surprise you? I am so happy that so many diverse titles, authors, and illustrators have been recognized. I have read a few of these titles and will be reviewing them shortly. Stay tuned!
1 Response
  1. I liked Poet X and have been meaning to read Darius. I feel like overall the awards were pretty good.

Post a Comment

Related Posts with Thumbnails