Rummanah Aasi

I have been looking forward to this morning and anxiously awaiting the announcement of several Children and Young Adult book awards. The Young Media Awards are like the Oscars for many librarians, including myself. The awards took place at the American Library Association (ALA) Midwinter Meeting at Boston, Massachusetts. Although there are many awards honored today, I was looking forward to finding out the winners for the CaldecottNewberyMorris, and of course the Michael L. Printz Award. You can find the other winners on the Association for Library Services to Children website and the Young Adult Library Services website (YALSA).

The Caldecott Medal was named in honor of  Randolph Caldecott, who was a nineteenth-century English illustrator. The award is given annually by the Association for Library Service to Children to the artist of the most distinguished American picture book for children.

Winner of the 2016 Caldecott Medal is:

Finding Winnie: The True Story of the World's Most Famous Bear by Lindsay Mattick 

Honorees of the 2016 Caldecott are:

Trombone Shorty by Troy Andrews
Waiting by Kevin Henkes
Voice of Freedom: Frannie Lou Hamer, Spirit of the Civil Rights Movement by Carole Boston Weatherford

The Newbery Medal was named in the honor of John Newbery, who was an eighteenth century British bookseller. Like the Caldecott, it is also awarded annually by the Association for Library Service to Children to the author of the most distinguished contribution to American literature for children.

Winner of the 2016 Newbery Medal is: 

Last Stop on Market Street by Matt De La Pena

Honorees of the 2016 Newbery are:

The War that Saved My Life by Kimberly Brubaker Bradley
Roller Girl by Victoria Jamieson
Echo by Pam Munoz Ryan

The William C. Morris YA Debut Award was first awarded in 2009 by YALSA. The award is given to a debut book published by a first-time author writing for teens and celebrating impressive new voices in young adult literature.

Winner of the 2016 Morris Award is: 

Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli

Honorees of the 2013 Morris Award are:

Because You'll Never Met Me by Leah Thomas
Conviction by Kelly Loy Gilbert
The Sacred Lies of Minnow Bly by Stephanie Oakes
The Weight of Feathers by Anna Marie McLemore

 The Michael L. Printz Award was named in the honor of Michael L. Printz, a school librarian in Topeaka, Kansas, who was a long-time active member of the Young Adult Library Services Association. The Michael L. Printz Award is an award given annually by the Young Adult Library Services Association to a book that exemplifies literary excellence in young adult literature.

Winner of the 2016 Michael Printz Award is:

Bone Gap by Laura Ruby

Honorees of the 2016 Printz Award are:

Out of Darkness by Ashley Hope Perez
The Ghosts of Heaven by Marcus Sedgwick

 Congratulations to all of today's winners! The library associations have spoken. What do you think of these book awards? Will you read the books that have won and have been honored?
5 Responses
  1. Jenny Says:

    I've heard nothing but AMAZING things about Simon vs. The Homo Sapiens Agenda, so I'm thrilled to learn it won the Morris Award! Definitely need to make time for it and The Bone Gap this year:)

  2. Oh gosh! I haven't read any of these. Time to catch up.

  3. Kindlemom Says:

    How exciting, thanks for sharing these!

  4. Oh I love knowing the winners to these awards. I'm also so glad you listed the honorees as well!

  5. Nice "Press Release" here. Very colorful and attractive. Join me in reading the Youth Media Award Winners (YA) in my challenge: Youth Media Award Challenge

Post a Comment

Related Posts with Thumbnails