Rummanah Aasi

I have been looking forward to this morning and anxiously awaiting the announcement of several Children and Young Adult book awards. The Young Media Awards are like the Oscars for many librarians, including myself. The awards took place at the American Library Association (ALA) Midwinter Meeting at Seattle, Washington. Although there are many awards honored today, I was looking forward to finding out the winners for the CaldecottNewberyMorris, and of course the Michael L. Printz Award. You can find the other winners on the Association for Library Services to Children website and the Young Adult Library Services website (YALSA).

The Caldecott Medal was named in honor of  Randolph Caldecott, who was a nineteenth-century English illustrator. The award is given annually by the Association for Library Service to Children to the artist of the most distinguished American picture book for children.

Winner of the 2013 Caldecott Medal is:

This Is Not My Hat by Jon Klassen

Honorees of the 2013 Caldecott are:

Creepy Carrots by Aaron Reynolds
Extra Yarn by Mac Barnett
Sleep Like a Tiger by Mary Logue
Green by Laura Seeger
One Cool Friend by Tony Buzzeo

The Newbery Medal was named in the honor of John Newbery, who was an eighteenth century British bookseller. Like the Caldecott, it is also awarded annually by the Association for Library Service to Children to the author of the most distinguished contribution to American literature for children.

Winner of the 2013 Newberry Medal is: 

The One and Only Ivan by Katherine Applegate

Honorees of the 2013 Newberry are:

Splendors and Glooms by Laura Amy Schlitz
Bomb by Steve Sheinkin
Three Times Lucky by Sheila Turnage

The William C. Morris YA Debut Award was first awarded in 2009 by YALSA. The award is given to a debut book published by a first-time author writing for teens and celebrating impressive new voices in young adult literature.

Winner of the 2013 Morris Award is: 

Seraphina by Rachel Hartmann

Honorees of the 2013 Morris Award are:

The Miseducation of Cameron Post by Emily M. Danforth
Wonder Show by Hannah Barnaby
Love and Other Perishable Items (also known as Good Oil in Australia) by Laura Buzo
After the Snow by Sophie D. Crockett

 The Michael L. Printz Award was named in the honor of Michael L. Printz, a school librarian in Topeaka, Kansas, who was a long-time active member of the Young Adult Library Services Association. The Michael L. Printz Award is an award given annually by the Young Adult Library Services Association to a book that exemplifies literary excellence in young adult literature.

Winner of the 2013 Michael Printz Award is:

In Darkness by Nick Lake

Honorees of the 2013 Printz Award are:

Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe by Benjamin Alire Sáenz *Also the Stonewall Award Winner

Code Name Verity by Elizabeth Wein
Dodger by Terry Pratchett
White Bicycle by Beverly Brenna

  Well, the library associations have spoken. What do you think of these book awards? Will you read the books that have won and have been honored? 
9 Responses
  1. BookCupid Says:

    Jon Klassen is amazing. I remember laughing so hard at I Want my Hat back.

  2. AHHHHH I haven't read any of the winners this time around. How did that happen?! Now I have more to put on my TBR list

  3. Some great books up there. So happy to see Seraphina as a winner. Thanks for putting this together and sharing!

  4. Seraphina and Good Oil! *faints* I loved both so much and I'm SO SO happy for Rachel. Seraphina is astonishingly good and I'm so happy this was recognized.
    I fully expected Wonder to get the Newbery, to be honest. And wow, I was WAY off for the Printz, I really wanted Code Name Verity to win, but I'm super happy with Printz honor.

  5. Part of me is surprised that The Fault in Our Stars didn't win the Printz but I wonder if the committee thought it had gotten so much publicity that it wanted to give another book a chance. I've never heard of this one. Have you? I wish Code Name Verity had won. Thrilled that Seraphina won the Morris award.

  6. I followed the announcements earlier today and don't think I was surprised to see Seraphina take the Morris. I haven't read it myself, but the reviews have been nothing but positive! I'll have to make an effort to try some of the other winning titles too. Thanks for the recap. :)

  7. Rummanah-
    Which of these have you read? I have heard that The One and Only Ivan is phenomenal. Ivan died just recently, the real one of course. I know of Seraphina but didn't read it, but what about In Darkness? Did you read that one? Always in search of good MG books. Thanks for posting these!!


  8. @Helen: I've at least heard a few of these. I've never heard of "White Bicycle".

    @Alison: I've heard of "In Darkness" and have it on my tbr pile but haven't read it. I know a lot of people were surprised about FIOS.

    @Heather: I've read most of the Morris Awards: Seraphina (which I really enjoyed) and Miseducation of Cameron Post (which I thought was ok).

  9. Candace Says:

    Since I was at ALA (though left Sunday and missed the award ceremony, BOO) there was much discussion of who might win. We heard news as the list was narrowed down and got very excited to see who would win. This is Not My Hat was no surprise. That was the one we'd guessed. And The One and Only Ivan was what the librarians we were speaking with at lunch one day were saying they thought would win. I wasn't real familiar with some of the titles but I'm SO excited about Seraphina because I loved it and it's not a surprise it won.

Post a Comment

Related Posts with Thumbnails